The State of Connecticut Readiness Program is administered by the Office of Early Childhood.  The Connecticut Office of Early Childhood was established in 2013 to coordinate and improve the various early childhood programs and components in the state to create a cohesive high-quality early childhood system.  The OEC is organized into four divisions:  Early Care and Education, Licensing, Early Intervention, and Family Support Services.  The Milford School Readiness/Ready to Learn program receives funding from the state in order to move these initiatives forward.  Fees are also charged to participating families to help supplement the costs of operating the program.

In Milford, the School Readiness/Ready to Learn program classrooms currently are located in three of our elementary schools: Orange Avenue, Pumpkin Delight, and Live Oaks.  The location of these classrooms may change from year to year, based on the availability of space within the school building.  Rest assured, however, that the School Readiness/Ready to Learn program will continue to be offered and adhere to only the highest of standards.

The Milford School Readiness/Ready to Learn program is accredited by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC).  Ensuring the quality of children's daily experiences in early childhood programming and promoting positive child outcomes is the goal of the NAEYC Early Childhood Program Standards and Accreditation criteria. The standards are listed below:

Standards under this group focus on the advancement of children’s learning and development.

Standard 1: Relationships
Standard 2: Curriculum
Standard 3: Teaching
Standard 4: Assessment of Child Progress
Standard 5: Health

The focus for this standard is on the qualifications, knowledge, and professional commitment of a program’s teaching staff.

Standard 6: Teachers 

Family and Community Partners
The two standards focus on relevant partnerships the program establishes with both families and the community.

Standard 7: Families
Standard 8: Community Relationships

Program Administration
The final two standards focus on the program's physical environment and the leadership and management provided by the program administration.

Standard   9: Physical Environment
Standard 10: Leadership and Management 
powered by finalsite